People | Franz Research Group



Annaliese K. Franz
Associate Professor

Department of Chemistry
314 Chemistry
University of California
Davis, CA 95616
Email: akfranz[a]
Phone: (530) 752-9820

Appointed to faculty, July 2007
NIH Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
B.S., Trinity University, San Antonio, TX

Awards and Professional Highlights

Faculty Director, Undergraduate Research Center, 2017-2019
ADVANCE Scholar Award, 2016
Mentoring at Critical Transitions Fellowship Award, 2015-2016
Outstanding Mentor Award, Consortium for Women & Research, 2013
Faculty Development Award for Mentoring and Outreach, 2012
ACS WCC Rising Star Award, 2012
Thieme Chemistry Journal Award, 2010
National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2009
3M Non-tenured Faculty Award, 2009-2012

Graduate Groups and Academic Affiliations

Chemistry Graduate Group
Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology (BMCDB) Graduate Group
Agricultural & Environmental Chemistry Graduate Group
Energy Graduate Group, Founding Member
Designated Emphasis in Biotechnology (DEB) Program
California Center for Algae Biotechnology (Cal-CAB)

Graduate Students

Brittany Armstrong
B.S. University of Oregon, 2010
Email: barmstrong[a]

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards, 2017
Chemistry Safety Star Awards, 2017
Chemistry Department Travel Award, 2017
WCC/Eli Lilly Travel Award, 2016

Andrew Burch
M.S. California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
B.S. California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Email: arburch[a]

UC Davis Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award, 2015
BMCDB Spring Fellowship, 2014
CIRM Bridges to Research Fellowship, 2009-2011
Ruth and Tracy Storer Scholarship, 2012

Angel Cobos
B.S. Georgia Institute of Technology, 2015
Email: acobos[a]

ORISE Fellowship Program, 2015-2016

Jake Dalton
B.S. University of Idaho, 2016
Email: jjdalton[a]

Kayla's photo

Kayla Diemoz
B.S. St. Mary's College, 2011
Email: kmdiemoz[a]

Chemistry Department Travel Award, 2017
Graduate Student Association Travel Award, 2017

Colleen Gallagher
B.A. Franklin & Marshall College, 2016
Email: crmgallagher[a]

Marshall Fellowship, 2014-2016

Blanca Gomez
B.S. University of California, Davis, 2017
Email: bigomez[a]

Ronald E. McNair Scholar 2015-2017
Miquel Velez Scholar 2014, 2016


Jake Jagannathan
B.S. Creighton University, 2016
Email: jrjagan[a]

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards, 2017
American Institute of Chemists Student Awardee, 2016
Baumann Scholar, 2015-2016

Julia Jennings
B.S. Central Washington University, 2013
Email: jjjennings[a]

Eugene Cota-Robles Fellowship, 2013-2015
Borge Fellowship, 2013-2014
University Research Best Oral Presentation Award, 2013
McNair Scholar, 2011-2013
Undergraduate Research Grant, 2011

Austin's photo

Austin Kelly
B.S. Rochester Institute of Technology, 2014
Email: athkelly[a]

Chemistry Department Travel Award, 2017
Borge Fellowship, 2014-2015
RIT Grant, 2009-2014
RIT Summer Research Fellowship, 2013

photo of kelsey

Kelsey Mesa
B.A. Scripps College, 2013
Email: kmmesa[a]

Borge Fellowship, 2014-2015
James E. Scripps Scholar, 2009-2013

Kayla Rude
B.S. Carroll University, 2015
Email: kmrude[a]

ACS Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry, 2014
Carroll University Pioneer Scholars Research Grant, 2014

Cody Yothers
B.A. Albion College, 2013
Email: cwyothers[a]

NIH-NIGMS T32 Training Grant, 2016-2017
Corson/Dow Graduate Fellowship, 2016
Borge Fellowship, 2015-2016

Sarah's photo

Sarah Tang
B.S. University of California, Davis, 2012
Email: yngtang[a]

Sarah's research is being performed in the Sutcliffe Research Lab in the University of California - Davis Biomedical Engineering Department at the UC-Davis Sacramento campus.


Undergraduate Students

Noreen Brar
Pharmaceutical Chemistry major, History and Political Science minors, class of 2018
Email: nobrar[a]



Alayna Nguyen
Pharmaceutical Chemistry major, class of 2018

Scholarship for Outstanding Performance in the Major


Alma Perez
Chemistry major, class of 2018
Email: aroperez[a]

NSF CAMP Research Scholars, 2017

Jeanelle Smoot
Chemistry major, class of 2018
Email: jmsmoot[a]

Scholarship for Outstanding Performance in the Undergraduate Major, 2017
Regent's Scholar


Former Lab Members

Home | Research | Publications | People | Teaching | Links | Group
Copyright © 2007, Franz Research Group, University of California, Davis. All Rights Reserved.