Winners of the Best Presentation Awards of the 2007 Richard Larock Undergraduate Research Conference are:


1st place:

Evan Horn, Investigation into an Efficient Synthetic Scheme Leads to Two New Sialic Acid Dimers

Ilya Yakovlev, A New Approach to Peptide Radiolabeling for the Imaging of Cancer by Positron Emission Tomography

2nd place:

Jason Holden, Designing a 3-phenyl-4,5-dihydroisoxazole-5-amide Library for Drug Discovery

3rd place:

Adrienne Kucma, Investigation of an Easy Synthesis of Yb11A10 (A=Sb, Bi)

4th place:

Ryan Henning, Mechanism Studies of a Multifunctional Sialyltransferase from Pasteurella multocida


Awards will be presented at the Departmental Awards Ceremony on Tue, June 5, 4pm in Chemistry 179




Prof. Richard Larock



Richard C. Larock, Distinguished Professor, received his Ph.D. from Purdue University in 1972, after completing his undergraduate training at the University of California, Davis, in 1967. Since his arrival at Iowa State, he has been a fellow of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, a recipient of a DuPont Young Faculty Award, and a winner of two Merck Academic Development Awards, an Iowa Regent's Award for Faculty Excellence, the 2003 ACS Edward Leete Award, the 2004 Paul Rylander Award of the Organic Reactions Catalysis Society, and a 2004 ACS Arthur C. Cope Senior Scholar Award. He is the author of four books on organomercurials and synthetic organic methodology. Dr. Larock's research interests include organopalladium chemistry and organic polymers.

More at

Contact: Tel : 515-294-4660, Email :