2011 Richard Larock
Undergraduate Research Conference

Saturday, May 14, 2011

10:00 am - 3:30 pm

Chemistry Department




- Information for Presenters

- Conference Program

- Best Presentation Awards

- Conference Photos

- 2010 conference

- 2009 conference

- 2008 conference

- 2007 conference


The conference is sponsored by the UC Davis Department of Chemistry and by Prof. Richard Larock (Department of Chemistry, Iowa State University). We also thank Vicki Lohmann from Fisher Scientific for a gift donation.


Conference program

The conference begins at 10:00 am with registration in room 172 followed by the opening address at 10:20 am in room 166. Presentations are then scheduled in two parallel sessions in rooms 166 and 172.  Sessions will be moderated by a faculty member who also facilitates a brief discussion after each presentation. A free lunch is served in the Gunrock Pub Patio area. After a keynote address by Prof. Richard Kaner and the awards ceremony, the conference concludes at ~3:30.


Registration and Breakfast in room 172

10:00  -  10:20 a.m.

Laptop Setup in rooms 166 and 176

10:00  -  10:20 a.m.

Opening Address in room 166

10:20  -  10:30 a.m.

Morning Sessions A (room 166) and B (room 176)

10:30  -  12:00 noon

Lunch in Gunrock Pub/Patio

12:00  -  12:45 p.m.

Afternoon Sessions A (room 166) and B (room 176)

12:45  -  2:00 p.m.

Keynote Address by Prof. Richard Kaner (room 166)

2:00  -  3:00 p.m.

Awards and Photos (room 166)

3:00  -  3:30 p.m.




Morning Session A (room 166) 10:30-12:00 noon


A1 Rational design, evolution and whole genome analysis of direct photosynthetic recycling of CO2 to C4-C5 alcohols in cyanobacteria

Avik Patel, Michael R. Connor, Gabriel Rodriguez, Shota Atsumi*


A2 Crystallization of Abf2 Protein-DNA Complexes

Jiajia Ying, Enoch P. Baldwin*


A3 Transmutation of Empty Cage Fullerenes and Endohedral Derivatives

Mary Magsombol, Brandon Mercado, Alan Balch,* Marilyn Olmstead*


A4 Investigations of Efficient Mimotope Syntheses

Ken Shiraishi, Jessica Hoch, Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague*


A5 Functionalized Nanoparticles for Site-Specific Chemotherapy: DNA Linkers and Radiation-Induced Ligand Release

Larissa Miyachi, Zane Starkewolfe, Ting Guo*


A6 Trialkyloxatriquinanes: Towards Record Long C-O Bonds

William Sheppard, Gorkem Gunbas, Mark Mascal*


Morning Session B (room 176) 10:30-12:00 noon


B1 Co-Crystallization of C60 and Metal Carbonyls

J. Nichols, F. Bowles, A. Balch*


B2 Chemoenzymatic Synthesis of Heparan Sulfate Oligosaccharides and Derivatives

Liana Hie, Yi Chen, Go Sugiarto, Yanhong Li, Vireak Thon, Hai Yu, and Xi Chen*


B3 Synthesis of Low Valent Group 13 Amides and Their Precursors

R. Alan Gamage, Z.D. Brown, P.P. Power*


B4 Sub-90 Deg Interligand Angles in Group 14 Element Dichalcogenolates

Thomas M. Brown, Brian D. Rekken, Philip P Power*


B5 Utilization of Synthetically Modified Nucleotides to Study DNA Repair Glycosylases

Minh Nguyen, Paige McKibbin, Michelle Hamn, Sheila David*


B6 Increased anti-oxidant properties of ε-polylysine by conjugation with curcumin

Elyse Towns, Mateo Hernandez, Rohan V. Tikekar, Donald P. Land,* and N. Nitin*



Afternoon Session A (room 166) 12:45-2:00 pm


A7 Synthesis of β-Ketoamide Isoxazolines by a One-Pot, Multicomponent Reaction

Alex B. Wood, John M. Knapp, Mark J. Kurth*


A8 Crystallography now and then: Synthesis and Structure of Pyr2I+I7-

Minh-Trang C. Pham, Håkon Hope*


A9 Simple Method for Investigation of the Phytotoxicity of Nanomaterials

Marco Herrera, Ming Zhang, Jessica Koehne, Timothy Patten* and Gang-Yu Liu*


A10 Efficient Pathways for the Development of a γ-Lactam Spirocyclic-oxindole Library

Austin Smith, Dr. Jared Shaw*


A11 The Expression and Purification of VEGF-165 for applications in Inhibiting Angiogenesis

Nicole Peiris, Bernadette Marquez, and Claude Meares*



Afternoon Session B (room 176) 12:45-2:00 pm


B7 Enantioselective Synthesis of Spiroindolones Catalyzed by Asymmetric Acids: Promoting a Cure for Malaria

Abel Silva Garcia, Joseph J. Badillo, Annaliese K. Franz*


B8 Luciferase - A screening tool for DNA repair inhibitors

Cindy Chang, Alan Raetz, Sheila S. David*


B9 Cloning and Expression of Human sialidase NEU1

Jonathan Chiang, Yanhong Li, Xi Chen*


B10 Moving Forward: Making a Computational/Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory Accessible to the Blind

Henry Wedler, Sarah Cohen, Davis, Christian Hamann, Jason Harrison, Jared Shaw, Matthew Siebert, Dean Tantillo*



Keynote Address (room 166) 2:00 - 3:00 pm

'Applications of Conducting Polymer Nanofibers'

by Richard B. Kaner, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Los Angeles 


Prof. Richard Kaner



Richard B. Kaner received his Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the University of Pennsylvania in 1984.  After carrying out postdoctoral research at the University of California, Berkeley, he joined the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), in 1987 as an Assistant Professor.  He was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 1991 and became a Full Professor in 1993.  Professor Kaner has received awards from the Dreyfus, Fulbright, Guggenheim, and Sloan Foundations, as well as the Exxon Fellowship in Solid State Chemistry and the Buck−Whitney Research Award from the American Chemical Society for his work on refractory materials, including new synthetic routes to ceramics, intercalation compounds, superhard materials, graphene, and conducting polymers. Richard B. Kaner holds a joint appointment in the departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry as well as Material Science and Engineering.


More at http://www.chem.ucla.edu/dept/Faculty/kaner/

Contact: Tel : 310-825-5346, Email : kaner@chem.ucla.edu